Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP vs. Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP vs. Manatt, Phelps & Phillips
Category by category. Sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown.
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Est. 1890
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP
Est. 1927
- Manatt, Phelps & Phillips
Est. 1965
Est. 1890
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP is a 2,000-plus-attorney global firm, Vault #8 / Am Law #4. Jurisdiction-specific Chambers rankings include Band 1 in Accountant and Auditor Liability, Antitrust, and Antitrust: Cartel. Operates from 22 offices worldwide.
Est. 1927
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP is a 1,000-plus-attorney firm, Am Law #47. Jurisdiction-specific Chambers rankings include Band 1 in Energy: State Regulatory & Litigation and Native American Law: Finance; Band 2 in Government Contracts. Operates from 11 offices worldwide.
Est. 1965
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips is a ~291-attorney firm. Jurisdiction-specific Chambers rankings include Band 1 in Healthcare; Band 2 in Litigation: Appellate and Media & Entertainment: Music. Operates from 12 offices worldwide.
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP#8
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP#66
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsNot Reported
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP#4
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP#47
- Manatt, Phelps & Phillips#106
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP48 records
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP2 records
- Manatt, Phelps & Phillips1 record
- #8
- #4
- 48 records
- Vault rank
- #66
- Am Law rank
- #47
- Reported Chambers Band 1 records
- 2 records
- Vault rank
- Not Reported
- Am Law rank
- #106
- Reported Chambers Band 1 records
- 1 record
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP$225,000
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP$225,000
- Manatt, Phelps & Phillips$225,000
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP$8.89M
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP$3.04M
- Manatt, Phelps & Phillips$2.96M
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP$4.21B
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP$1.38B
- Manatt, Phelps & Phillips$509.70M
Revenue per lawyer
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP$2.04M
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP$1.34M
- Manatt, Phelps & Phillips$1.75M
- $225,000
- $8.89M
- $4.21B
- Revenue per lawyer
- $2.04M
- First-Year Comp
- $225,000
- Profits Per Partner
- $3.04M
- Firm revenue
- $1.38B
- Revenue per lawyer
- $1.34M
- First-Year Comp
- $225,000
- Profits Per Partner
- $2.96M
- Firm revenue
- $509.70M
- Revenue per lawyer
- $1.75M
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPNot Reported
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPNot Reported
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsNot Reported
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPNot Reported
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPNot Reported
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsNot Reported
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP1.6:1
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPNot Reported
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsNot Reported
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP~2,200
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP~1,050
- Manatt, Phelps & Phillips~300
Offices
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP22
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP11
- Manatt, Phelps & Phillips12
- Not Reported
- Not Reported
- 1.6:1
- ~2,200
- Offices
- 22
- Billable target
- Not Reported
- Partnership track
- Not Reported
- US associates per partner
- Not Reported
- Firm size (rounded to 50)
- ~1,050
- Offices
- 11
- Billable target
- Not Reported
- Partnership track
- Not Reported
- US associates per partner
- Not Reported
- Firm size (rounded to 50)
- ~300
- Offices
- 12
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP97%
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP100%
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsNot Reported
Class size
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP156 (year not confirmed)
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP65 (2026)
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsNot Reported
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPFree market
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPNot Reported
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsNot Reported
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPNo
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPCase by Case
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsNot Reported
- 97%
- Class size
- 156 (year not confirmed)
- Free market
- No
- Offer rate
- 100%
- Class size
- 65 (2026)
- How associates get work
- Not Reported
- Specific practice area
- Case by Case
- Offer rate
- Not Reported
- Class size
- Not Reported
- How associates get work
- Not Reported
- Specific practice area
- Not Reported
Green marks the stronger for the same practice, market and year. Shared results are listed once. split some top tables.
Rank differences
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPBand 1 · Elite
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPBand 3 · Elite
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsBand 4 · Elite
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPBand 1
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPBand 2
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsBand 2
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPBand 1
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPBand 3
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsBand 4
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPBand 1
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPBand 3
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsBand 2
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPBand 2
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPBand 4
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsBand 4
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPBand 2
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPBand 3
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsBand 3
- Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLPBand 5
- Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLPBand 4
- Manatt, Phelps & PhillipsBand 5
Firm-only and additional rankings remain available on each firm profile so missing coverage is not mistaken for a head-to-head loss.
See which of these firms are open on the Job Board
Data sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown. Chambers record counts can span years and reporting coverage varies; missing years or markets are not compared. Current Chambers bands were checked against each firm’s Chambers profile on Sep 26, 2026; where Chambers splits a table, every Elite firm ranks above every Highly Regarded firm. Missing values read “Not Reported”.